.
 
Picture
Either someone had translation problems, or Hunan is only ten metres wide
I am writing from Yuping, an official Dong minority administrative region, in Guizhou province. Despite bearing the name "rich province" (named after a range of mountains, not for its literal meaning), Guizhou is one of the poorest provinces in China. It is home to the Miao minority, as well as some Dong and a few others.

It snowed all night.

When I got on the road this morning, much to the protest of my host, there were three inches of slush and snow everywhere. There are no ploughs here, and no salt. It took me three and a half hours to struggle the 30 kilometres to Xinhuang, what should have been an hour and a half ride.


Picture
I was resigned to being stuck in Xinhuang, but by the time I had finished lunch, the weather had warmed slightly and the road cleared enough to bike properly. I got back on the road, and biked past the Guizhou border to Yuping. The afternoon was damp and cold, but at least bikeable.

The first thing I noticed about Guizhou was the food, which changed the instant I crossed the border. The favorite of street sellers seems to be parsley dipped in batter and deep fried.

There is little difference between a minority region and anywhere else. Minorities are allowed extra children, so I saw frequent PSA signs encouraging the voluntary one-child lifestyle.

Picture
'If China's society is to be harmonious,first we must resolve the population problem.'
Picture
A cabbage truck overturned in the ditch
I slept almost 11 hours last night. I always thought electric blankets were kind of silly, but in a land without much heating I have learned to respect them deeply.

My body felt a good deal better today, but I still have some major problems facing me. I cannot keep biking in weather like this morning. In addition to being painfully slow, it is also dangerous. I fell off my bike twice this morning, and although I was fine, I know from experience how easy it is to break an arm or a foot. This is not the time or place to take that risk.

The weather report calls for snow, snow, and more snow. If the roads are bad tomorrow morning, I will wait and see if it melts by late morning. If it does not, then I am stuck here for now.

Picture

Regards,

Niko

Stuart McKinnon
1/18/2011 02:45:05 am

What and adventure, Niko! Your reports are captivating ... like being there without the sore knees and cold feet. Can hardly wait till tomorrow's installment.

Blessings,
Stuart

Reply
G.G. known as Grannie Row !
1/20/2011 10:31:16 am

It appears we are not old enough to use a password Niko ! Both proud of you just the same G.G.

Reply
4/6/2011 06:29:27 pm

I sit at my window this morning where the world like a passer-by stops for a moment,nods to me and goes.

Reply
4/20/2012 05:02:28 pm

good online store.http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net

Reply
4/22/2012 06:48:51 pm

Market trends requires a sharp line to generally be pulled by the tennis courts to ascertain from where the surface fabrications.

Reply
5/30/2012 12:37:24 pm

There are some practical and beautiful items for sale at? Coach Factory Outlet Online for your selection. Do not miss it and have one for a try.

Reply
6/12/2012 12:17:48 pm

You may also want to spend more money on inserting additional pictures of your item. One picture is usually included in the price for listing the item.

Reply
8/6/2012 04:59:11 pm

A very good article, it is worth sharing! !

Reply
8/9/2012 11:27:50 am

These therapies, engineered together with coach factory outlet really don't warrant the utilization of hundreds of different and scary-looking apparatuses, nor does the catering company pain your credit card nearly as considerably;

Reply
8/15/2012 04:30:16 pm

The same goes for her line of handbags, now known worldwide. With his trademark DC logo covered immediately recognizable, the case with women around the world are popular.

Reply
8/23/2012 07:02:13 pm

--!@jiansuThere are many websites online where you can find Chanel handbags for sale--!@jiansu

Reply
9/2/2012 12:14:54 pm

--!@linli than the browning affection mentioned above.

Reply
8/23/2013 11:24:36 pm

You will find zero ploughs in this article, without salt. The item got everyone several and a half hours to struggle this thirty kilometres to Xinhuang, exactly what really should have also been a couple of hours and a half drive.

Reply



Leave a Reply.