.
 
Picture
The first of the Snow Peak Mountains
I cannot remember the last time I was as physically exausted as today. I am writing in my room in Xiaoshajiang Village. There is no hot water because the pipes froze, and no heating of course. There is a makeshift karaoke bar next door, filling the neighbourhood with off key pop songs. Nonetheless, I think I am going to sleep well.

Half an hour out of Xinhua this morning, I heard it for the first time: a sound utterly unfamiliar in China. It was silence. There were no honks, no beeps, no rumbles, no people talking. Just the soft whisper of the wind in the bamboo and cyprus. It has not always been quiet today, but that silence has been there in the background somewhere.

A few hours into the day these mountains appeared on the horizon. Mountains here are not like the ones I am used to in Canada. Chinese mountains have a rippling, serpentine shape, as if they bubbled out of a primordial icing pipe. 


Picture
Delicious
I crossed a few pulse raising but manageable mountains, and ate lunch in Duckfield Village, which did indeed have many ducks. Something seems to be going on today. I have seen an abnormal number of firecrackers, weddings, and ceremonies of various kinds.

After lunch, I started up into a valley that never ended. Up the road would go into one fold in the mountains, and just as it looked like it was nearing an end, it would curve around a hill and head up again in another direction. This was, I would realize later, what I had seen on my map: the Snow Peak Mountains.

Every day on this trip, I have felt like the countryside is as rough and remote as it will get, but every day I have been surprised. The China that I saw up this valley was altogether surreal. The farmhouses are wooden, with some glass windows but not a hint of metal sheeting, plastic or paint. Aside from a motorcycle or three-wheel buggy here and there, there was hardly anything to suggest that the last two hundred years had passed. Through the wide, wood panelled doorways are ancestor shrines with incense and candles.
Above the immaculately terraced rice paddies, the mountains are wrapped in dense bamboo forest. I have seen bamboo before, but nothing like this. It feels like travelling through a giant bed of moss.

There is nothing I can say to describe four and half hours of bicycling up a mountain. There are certainly some bike enthusiasts or hikers who understand. Honestly, though, I am not even sure if my memory can do it justice. I may attempt such a thing again, but perhaps only if the mercy of forgetfulness wipes from my mind what it was really like.

Picture
Frozen rice paddies near Xiaoshajiang
Nevertheless, I emerged into the snowy, frozen highcountry as evening was coming on. I stopped in the Miao minority village of Xiaoshajiang. It is icy cold here. By evening, nearly everyone is off the streets and huddling in blankets or around blanketed heating tables. 

This place seems more than just a few hundred kilometres away from the rest of the world. There is some talk of a new railway through the mountains from Changsha to Huaihua. Maybe some day many more people will see places like Xiaoshajiang.
Selfish as it is, I'm glad I was here first.


Regards,

Niko

Grannie
1/31/2011 06:18:18 am

Hello Mountain Man,I feel like calling for help at this point if you are still strugging around the Snow Mountain. I never actually got up: the rest felt too reponsible to allow me at the time. I just know gazing & trying to deal with the cam. was enough satisfaction for my neck to handle.Actually, I'm lost at the Big Push.Hope you are joining the family by now .Love G.G.

Reply
4/20/2012 05:01:33 pm

good online store.http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net

Reply
4/22/2012 06:49:21 pm

Market trends requires a sharp line to generally be pulled by the tennis courts to ascertain from where the surface fabrications.

Reply
5/30/2012 12:36:38 pm

There are some practical and beautiful items for sale at? Coach Factory Outlet Online for your selection. Do not miss it and have one for a try.

Reply
6/12/2012 12:16:05 pm

You may also want to spend more money on inserting additional pictures of your item. One picture is usually included in the price for listing the item.

Reply
8/6/2012 04:58:59 pm

A very good article, it is worth sharing! !

Reply
8/9/2012 11:27:57 am

These therapies, engineered together with coach factory outlet really don't warrant the utilization of hundreds of different and scary-looking apparatuses, nor does the catering company pain your credit card nearly as considerably;

Reply
8/15/2012 04:30:41 pm

The same goes for her line of handbags, now known worldwide. With his trademark DC logo covered immediately recognizable, the case with women around the world are popular.

Reply
8/23/2012 07:03:19 pm

--!@jiansuThere are many websites online where you can find Chanel handbags for sale--!@jiansu

Reply
9/2/2012 12:15:28 pm

--!@linli accomplish a fun arcade experience.

Reply



Leave a Reply.