.
 
Picture
Down from the mountains
First of all, I feel a good deal proud of being here tonight. There have been not a few times over the past two days when I have doubted whether I could get to Huaihua by tonight, and a couple of people I have met along the way have doubted it to. I put in at least 8 solid hours of biking today, and rode over 100 kilometres of mountains to be here. And here I am.

I woke up this morning to the sound of roosters crowing, closely followed by the sound of a pig dying. By the time I was on the road, the pig was being chopped into pieces for sale. I admire these people's efficiency.

The road from Xiaoshajiang went up and down over a few more hills through the early morning, and then dropped as dizzyingly as it had climbed. By the time the sun was visible above the mountains, I had shot down into the green valley below and left the snow covered peaks behind.

Picture
A bluff near Iron Slope Village

From there on, nothing was easy. I had hoped that the mountains would slope gently down towards Huaihua, or at least drop down into flat and open valleys. I had no such luck. Each little village was in a valley, and from one to the next required climbing up a mountain, winding across a jagged ridge, and then spiralling back down again. By mid morning, I was beginning to doubt I would get to Huaihua.

The obstacle is sunlight. I have all the time in the world, and my legs can carry me a long way given enough rest. The key factor is the meagre ten hours of winter sunlight between about 8am and 6pm. If I wanted to get to Huaihua, I had to do it before the road went dark and I could no longer tell a bend in the road from a rocky precipice. 

Picture
The Yuan River
In the afternoon, I crossed the broad emerald green Yuan river, and headed back into the mountains beyond. Here, everything got worse. My bike handlebars came loose, I would guess from the back and forth strain of biking uphill yesterday. I had to awkwardly wedge them stable while I biked up the next hill and down into the following valley where I got the bolt tightened at an auto repair shop.
An hour later, the whole thing happened again. This time, when I finally wobbled into a repair shop, I realized what should have been obvious before and bought the tightening tool (3 yuan). Naturally, once I had the tool, my handlebars never bothered me again.

At 4pm I passed my last possible stop before Huaihua, and decided to go for it. The last two hours were an exausting climb up another ridge of mountains, but by dark I was swooping back down towards the lights of the city.

This morning I had noodles for breakfast. This afternoon I had noodles for lunch. And what did I have for dinner?
Picture
BAM!
Indeed. Now, I am no big fan of KFC, but this is the first reasonably large city I have seen in a while and the last I am likely to see for a while longer. Also, KFC is better in China. It serves things like Beijing duck wraps, and spicy shrimp burgers. Ironically, it probably also treats its chickens better.
According to an online calorie estimator, I also likely expended over 4,500 calories today, so I can probably handle a little corn syrup right now.

Regards,

Niko
Richard
1/16/2011 01:54:59 am

Way to go Neex
Don't forget to update yr map!!
R

Reply
richard
1/16/2011 01:56:42 am

just after commenting, I clicked on Huaihua and got it.
R

Reply
Jeani
1/16/2011 03:52:37 am

Hey Niko,

I am a friend of Bill's here in Nelson...have spent the best part of the last two and a half years teaching in Nanjing...love Hunan...remember well climbing up to the rice terraces...amazing Miao women/villages. May be back in Nanjing in March...hope to connect.

Happy trails, am loving your blog!

Jeani

Reply
2/17/2011 05:32:44 pm

You gave great points here. I found nearly all people agree with your blog.

Reply
3/7/2011 09:42:36 am

I would like to thank you for the efforts you've got made in writing this submit. I am hoping the exact same greatest function from you inside the future too. Actually your creative writing abilities has inspired me to begin my own BlogEngine weblog now. Seriously the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is often a fine example of it.

Reply
4/20/2012 05:02:02 pm

good online store.http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net

Reply
4/22/2012 06:48:35 pm

Market trends requires a sharp line to generally be pulled by the tennis courts to ascertain from where the surface fabrications.

Reply
5/30/2012 12:36:48 pm

There are some practical and beautiful items for sale at? Coach Factory Outlet Online for your selection. Do not miss it and have one for a try.

Reply
6/12/2012 12:17:36 pm

You may also want to spend more money on inserting additional pictures of your item. One picture is usually included in the price for listing the item.

Reply
7/17/2012 03:41:33 pm

I have been searching around for an article like this. Took some time but finally located it. Actually very good read thanks. It is been difficult to discover the information I required. I use this website for a great deal.

Reply
8/6/2012 04:58:40 pm

A very good article, it is worth sharing! !

Reply
8/9/2012 11:26:33 am

These therapies, engineered together with coach factory outlet really don't warrant the utilization of hundreds of different and scary-looking apparatuses, nor does the catering company pain your credit card nearly as considerably;

Reply
8/15/2012 04:30:31 pm

The same goes for her line of handbags, now known worldwide. With his trademark DC logo covered immediately recognizable, the case with women around the world are popular.

Reply
8/23/2012 07:02:42 pm

--!@jiansuThere are many websites online where you can find Chanel handbags for sale--!@jiansu

Reply
9/2/2012 12:15:15 pm

--!@linli than the browning affection mentioned above.

Reply
7/11/2013 03:21:41 pm

I really like your writing. Thanks so much, finally a decent website with good information in it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.