.
 
If Chinese hospitality is not famous, it ought to be.
 
A Chinese host cares for a guest with a psychotic hospitality that can overwhelm and bewilder the unsuspecting westerner. After nearly two years in China, I still get caught off guard.
A couple of nights ago I met Fu Zhilan at the movie theatre. I had nothing to do for the evening, so I went to see Tron. Like eating oreos, going to the movies is something I do in China to remind me of Canada even though I never actually do it at home.
Fu is a fourth year law student in Guiyang; she comes from a smaller town a few hours away. We went out to eat after the movie, and she beat me to the bill with the infuriating skill that all Chinese people seem to possess. Oh well, I thought, I'll get it next time.
But it was not to be. Every time we have bought so much as a bottle of water together she has pushed me aside, declaring firmly "You mustn't do that; you are a guest!" All of my usual tricks are no use.

To a Canadian, all of this can get embarrassing and awkward. I am not used to watching someone I have hardly met slap down money for me over and over again. Like so many other things in China, however, it is something I may just have to swallow. I have noticed that the more remote and traditional a region of China, the more this attitude prevails. My friends in relatively modernized Nanjing will split a bill, but in Guiyang no such thing exists. 

The Chinese have a commonly used phrase meaning "to pull tight connections." This is everything that the Chinese do to strengthen their social bonds: asking people out to eat, giving gifts, drinking together, sharing cigarettes, and so on. All of these things slowly build up social capital, a substance that is at least as valuable here as money or property. That is not to say that Fu's kindness has ulterior motives. This kind of behavior is rather a kind of instinct that the Chinese possess, a faith that the money and effort spent making friends will all come back in the end. And one way or the other, it usually does.
This is one of the most fascinating, beautiful, frustrating and mind-bending elements of the Chinese world.

As usual, however, I really actually want to talk about food. Fu took me to eat at a friend's house this evening. Her friend is in his late 20s and from Guangdong province. He, his wife, two other friends, Fu and I were gathering for a meal before everyone left Guiyang to spend the new year in their respective hometowns. He made hot pot.

If you don't know what hot pot is, you should. It is one of the great foods of the world. Hot pot is made by stewing a soup base with oil, vast amounts of chili peppers, spices and herbs in a large pot with a steady flame under it. Everyone sits around the pot, and dumps in any kind of food imaginable. As soon as the ingredients are cooked, everyone fishes them out with chopsticks and eats them. Simple, but brilliant.
Tonight's hot pot was served with a curious drink: mulled beer. Our host took a large pot of beer and boiled it, covered, with lemon, ginger, rock sugar, Chinese dates, and some medicinal herbs. The result was completely flat, but retained a surprising amount of its alcohol content, and had a quite complimentary flavour.

Guangdong people are known for their extreme tastes in food, even by Chinese standards. Some of the ingredients of this hot pot are as follows:

Sliced lotus root
Freshly killed and gutted trout (our host had to hold them down in the pot with chopsticks to stop them from flopping about).
Sliced pork kidneys
Shaved mutton
Bullfrogs
Mushrooms
Wood fungus
Spam
Sliced potatoes
Tofu skin
Chinese broccoli
Pork brains
Glutinous rice cubes

I know what you're thinking. Spam? Weird.

Regards,

Niko

Kristie
1/25/2011 02:59:43 am

"This is one of the most fascinating, beautiful, frustrating and mind-bending elements of the Chinese world." This is very well put dude.

I can't say I know exactly how you feel because each experience is unique; however, the description you give of the hospitality that you encounter in China sounds all too familiar.

I had a similar experience with the generosity in Albania during my short stay there. It was overwhelming and frustrating but they really make sure that there is nothing you can do but accept it. Once I came to terms with this I actually found it was very refreshing to be in a culture where money, as valuable as it is, doesn't mean near as much as the people around you and the connections you make.

Reply
Emily Stewart
2/1/2011 12:35:55 am

Just so you know, I'm in 4th year at Dal in LaoShi's Mandarin class, and loving your blog. You've inspired me to include China as a part of my post-graduation adventure. You rock my socks!

P.S. Great writing style!

Reply
4/20/2012 05:00:35 pm

good online store.http://www.mycoachoutletstoreonlinee.net

Reply
4/22/2012 06:45:45 pm

Market trends requires a sharp line to generally be pulled by the tennis courts to ascertain from where the surface fabrications.

Reply
5/30/2012 12:38:50 pm

There are some practical and beautiful items for sale at? Coach Factory Outlet Online for your selection. Do not miss it and have one for a try.

Reply
6/12/2012 12:17:17 pm

You may also want to spend more money on inserting additional pictures of your item. One picture is usually included in the price for listing the item.

Reply
8/6/2012 04:58:25 pm

A very good article, it is worth sharing! !

Reply
8/9/2012 11:28:13 am

These therapies, engineered together with coach factory outletreally don't warrant the utilization of hundreds of different and scary-looking apparatuses, nor does the catering company pain your credit card nearly as considerably;

Reply
8/15/2012 04:32:06 pm

The same goes for her line of handbags, now known worldwide. With his trademark DC logo covered immediately recognizable, the case with women around the world are popular.

Reply
8/23/2012 07:03:53 pm

--!@jiansuThere are many websites online where you can find Chanel handbags for sale--!@jiansu

Reply
9/2/2012 12:16:08 pm

--!@linli than the browning affection mentioned above.

Reply
8/16/2013 08:18:33 pm

Directly of track I do same this on the fundamental arrange. This is really what I would always wanted to be accomplished. I like it accordingly. It's really surprising.

Reply

A-Mentor can help you by writing outlines and proposals which can assist you in planning your essay, report, coursework and dissertation.

Reply



Leave a Reply.